Oops, page not found!

SF State University

Marta Lilian Marcos

2020 BAGSF Essay 

I am a junior college student who is going to transfer to the university the next semester. Since I started my education at Cañada College I have demonstrated that I am an excellent student. I have been in the Dean’s List ten times. I am member of EOPS Cañada College, and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. I got my PASS certificate and my ECE certificate the last year. I got recognition from Phi Theta Kappa on 2018. I have been chosen to be part of All-Academic Team California. I am studying the field of Early Childhood Education to become a preschool teacher. I will major in Early Childhood Education and a minor in Special Education. After I have completed my core courses in college, I will be able to transfer to the university and pursuit my goals. 

My plans for the future are to get a BA in Early Childhood Education and eventually obtain a Master's Degree in Special Education. After graduating from the university, I want to open my own preschool program to provide quality education to all children in my community. I want a program with inclusion emphasis to give all children the opportunity to grow up in a place without any boundaries or discrimination. I truly believe all children can learn, so it is our job as teachers to provide them the sources to make it possible for them to learn. I will work hard to complete my education and make my dreams come true. This is my last semester at college, so I applied for San Francisco State University for Fall 2020 and have been accepted. 

I grew up in El Salvador. My dad was murdered when I was five years old. My childhood was difficult because my siblings always bullied me, and my mom didn’t care about it. Although my mom worked, we didn’t have enough money to cover the basic needs. In my family education was not important, so I didn’t have the encouragement to continue with my education. I started school at six years old. I suffered bullying at school too, not only from other students but also from my teachers. When I was seventeen years old, I left my house. I met my husband, and we got married. My first daughter was born when I was eighteen years old. I finished high school when I was pregnant. I had to escape from my country because I was in danger there. I decided to immigrate to the U.S. on 2014 with my two daughters. To come here we had to cross Guatemala and Mexico all by ourselves. When we finally reached the border of the U.S. we paid a coyote to cross the river. On the other side of the river the coyote abandoned us, and left us alone. Immigration officers found us, and we had the opportunity to apply for asylum. We were granted asylum last year. All this difficult circumstances made me stronger, and developed more courage to succeed. Now I a woman who works hard to complete her goals and I are not easy to give up.  

My husband had an injury in his back, so he has around one year unemployed. I have to work full time to support my family. I have to support my husband, my two daughters, and my mom who lives in El Salvador. Although I work full time, the money is not enough to pay for my education.